Feels Like Home

Feels Like Home

by Chantal Kreviazuk

Something in your eyes

makes me want to lose myself

in your arms

There’s something in your voice

makes my heart beat fast

Hope this feeling lasts

the rest of my life

If you knew how lonely my life has been

And how long I’ve felt so low

If you knew how I wanted someone to come along

And change my life the way you’ve done

Feels like home to me

Feels like I’m all the way back where

I come from

Feels like home to me

A window breaks down a long dark street

And a siren wails in the night

But I’m alright ’cause I have you here with me

And I can almost see through the dark there’s light

If you knew how much this moment means to me

And how long I’ve waited for your touch

If you knew how happy you are making me

I’ve never thought I’d love anyone so much

Feels like home to me

Feels like I’m all the way back where I belong.

                         ““““

These are the lyrics to Feels Like Home, by Chantal Kreviazuk.

I think this is one of the most moving songs I’ve heard in a long time-but its worth mentioning here that to me, Joshua Bell is the equivalent of Black Eyed Peas,Linkin Park or (heaven forbid)Britney Spears for other people.

Unfortunately(for me), there’s just one problem- I don’t believe in the type of love the song hails. I’m sure it exists for people out there-I’m not THAT cynical. I’d like to-but I’m not sure if I personally believe in it.

I believe in love. I don’t deny that.

I’m not saying that I’m incapable of loving people- because I love my family very much. They mean the world to me. And I’d do anything within my means to help a friend.Why? Because I love them.

I love God, above all.

I love my family as much as you can love someone.

And I love my friends..well,as much as you can love a friend.

But I’m not sure if eternal, undying love-the “romantic” type, to put it that way, exists.

When you say that you’ll love someone forever- what does it mean?

I’ll love you until someone better comes along?

 I’ll love you until you start to annoy me? 

I’ll love you until your constant farting in public becomes too embarassing?

Ok, so the last one was a bit far-fetched.

How DO you know if someone’s the one you’re meant to be with?

How WILL you know?

Loving someone means,inevitably, having expectations of the other person.

But the only person you can actually have expectations of is yourself. In my opinion, anyway.

Maybe that’s my problem. I’ve learnt not to expect anything from other people.

Because people can disappoint.

All love shifts and changes. I don’t know if you can be wholeheartedly in love all the time.

Julie Andrews said that.

I agree.

I hope I’m not turning out to be a cynic at age 18.

Really.I’m not sure if it exists.

So prove me wrong.

September 6, 2004. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

