DECISIONS,DECISIONS…

Only you can make this world seem right

Only you can make the darkness bright

Only you, and you alone

Can thrill me like you do

And fill my heart with love, for only you..

                                        -Elvis Presley-

This is a nice song.

But I digress. Back to business.

A Very Clever Friend ( he is really very smart so I generally believe what he says) commented today:

If just ONE guy and ONE girl went out ( it does not matter if it was a date or whatever) the girl will take longer to decide on something.

Haha.

He may be right.

Actually,I think he IS.

This actually got me thinking. Not about the whole Mars-Venus overdone to DEATH cliched bit , but about decisions themselves.

How will my decisions today affect me tomorrow? WILL they?

I know that’s what people say.I kNOW its probably true.

But how do you know if you’ve made the right decision?

Is it like in the cartoons,where you come to a room with 3 doors, and there’s a sign over one of them that says PICK ME?

Because as we know..it usually ends up being the one with the lions on the other side, or the bogeyman or some other equally scary monster.

And if the hero(ine) turns back,(s)he’ll discover that the other doors also have something nasty on the other side.

Which is the point I’m trying to make.

There is no perfect decision. It may seem perfect, but it seldom is.

Then we come to the type of decision, where people say:

Its hard, but you’ll have to do what’s best.

You’ll have to do what’s best. Even if its the hardest decision you’ll ever have to make.

You just have to.

Then I wonder:

Is it wrong to want to take the easy way out sometimes?

Why is it wrong?

Sometimes decisions like these make a lot of people sad.

So is it wrong for me to want to make some (not all,admittedly) people happy?

Is it so wrong to be selfish sometimes?

Hmm.

And what if you make a decision, which seems right at the time, but turns out to be sooooo wrong later on?

What if you make a decision that you’ll end up regretting?

What if?

Life is what happens when you’re busy doing other things. I guess making decisions is something that no one will ever be able to nail down. Because as a very clever person told me, every decision you make changes you.

And it has.

NOTE: Its ok if you don’t really get this…..sometimes I don’t understand me either..but really..who does?

It doesn’t help that I have a fever and cough…it could be the codeine talking, I will never know for sure..

September 11, 2004. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

