something different

I can’t think of anything to write about, although I seem to have more things on my mind lately. So I’ll be trying something completely different.

This entry was drafted a long time ago..sometime in July, I think..so some of the references may be a bit dated…

These are some of the books I’ve read lately…

man and boy (tony parsons)

Touching, funny and sad all at the same time. Harry was so believable, so human…that I was rooting for him all the while, even when he seemed like a complete idiot for doing the things he did. It reminded me that its ok to make mistakes.

man and wife (tony parsons)

I liked this one better. It wasn’t as sad as the first, but it made me think more.Because you never know what’s going to happen.you never know.When sometimes life gets too complicated, you just want to wipe the slate clean and start again. Harry reminds me of myself. To try to run away from things, to keep wanting to start afresh- you can’t always do that.

It surpasses its predecessor by far. This one made me feel happy and sad, all at once. I don’t think I’ve ever felt that way reading any book, not even Bridget Jones(Bridget Jones), my collection of chick lit or even Potty the Potter (GASP!!)(but actually outgrew this long time ago…) 

Loving someone, they say, makes that person perfect. It blinds you to their imperfections, their idiosyncrasies,their faults-when ironically those very things may have been what drew you to love them so much in the first place. And when the blinders come off, Harry realises that his new wife, like his ex is neither perfect,nor infallible.

I’ve only read it once, so I haven’t really understood which was the main and sub plots,or were they all equally important?

Categorically speaking, this stuff was macho lit, according to Apu (you may not remember this, neither do I,but like I said..this was written in July….).

I’m actually surprised that the writer managed to explore his characters so well. What they say about men being unable to express themselves must be a myth.

Evidently macho lit is a whole new genre to be explored. Well, maybe except the ones about motorbikes and speedboats.

Looking forward to his latest offering- I think its called the family way.

Bookends, by Jane Green

This is quite good chick lit…amusing..made me feel like I actually knew the characters.

The Chronicles of Narnia

Classic.Enough said.

The Lord of The Rings:The Return of The King

This was technically a re-read…I didn’t manage to finish it the first time round..Kept getting distracted by the movie…

Viggo Mortensen is too macho for words.I’m shocked he wasn’t nominated for an Oscar.He should have won Best Male.

This is a travesty.

September 11, 2004. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

