the WAY

Recently, a friend suggested that I try out the Jung Typology test, which is based on Carl Jung’s theories.

http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes1.htm

I hope the link works…

Anyway, according to the test, I’m ISTJ, which means Introverted, Sensing, Thinking, Judging….

But I’m not sure how accurate these tests are, considering that I’ve taken 3 tests,and I’ve gotten 3 different results.

I’m actually quite fascinated by psychology.

But what REALLY fascinates me is the whole concept of self-awareness, or self-actualisation.

I’m not sure who actually came up with self-actualisation .I think its Abraham Maslow ( we learnt about him in Moral Studies earlier this year, something about the hierarchy of needs..)

It is quite hard to achieve this..It is estimated that only about 2% of the world’s population is self actualised, including people like the late Eleanor Roosevelt, Abe Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson etc…

In order to achieve self actualisation, one must practice:

1. Love and Compassion.

This means that one must learn to love. For example, you must love your brother, even if it seems like he was born to annoy you. So, the next time you feel the urge to push him off the chair, think  ” I must love my brother in order to become self actualised.”

This is one of the main reasons why my brother(s) are still alive today.

2. Friendship. 

In essence, this means that one must be nice to one’s friends. Also, one must treasure and love one’s friends (kills 2 birds with one stone-this is practising # 1 AND #2 at the same time).

This is because there are only 2 absolutes in life.

Friends, and vodka.

3.Forgiveness.

This means that one should not hold grudges against those who have wronged. It is not for us to pass judgement on others.

So the next time you feel like sticking a pencil in someone’s eye, DON’T.

It will not help achieve self actualisation.( actually, a better reason is that its illegal, but let’s not quibble)

Love thy enemy. It pisses him off.

4. Kindness and Charity.

This means that one must be nice to other people and try to help them.

A good example is to go shopping, because not only are you supporting the livelihoods of all the people who helped manufacture your products, you are also helping the poor underpaid salespeople who are so crabby all the time. In the long run, shopping will boost the economy, provide jobs for the people, which will lead to improvements in the standards of life…………..ok, I’m rambling now….but you get the idea,right?….

So in a way, to go shopping is to do a good deed for humanity.

Doesn’t that make you feel better about yourself? ;P

5. Trust.

This means that one must not be so suspicious all the time. Sometimes if one’s friend says things like “Sorry, I fell asleep” or I’m sorry I didn’t return your call, there was no coverage/no battery/no credit/I lost your number” or “Of course I’m telling the truth”, one must believe them.

Because the day will come when one will need to use those lies as well.

But before you think of using one of those lines (or any of the ones from the entry before this), please try to think of this.

Not all scars show. Not all wounds heal.

And sometimes you can’t always see the pain someone feels.

                                                              ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well..

I’m off on my journey now. Self actualisation beckons….

Quote of the day:

“Wanna know who your real friends are?

Screw up and see who’s still there.

September 18, 2004. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

