for the love…of a pair of shoes…

I went shopping today.

On shopping expeditions, I usually come home

a. happy, or at least satisfied.

b.a little bit broke.

c.tired as hell.

Today,however, I came home

a. TIRED.

That’s it.

No longer did I feel a rush upon seeing the sign: 50% OFF!

No longer did the incessant DING! of the cash register excite me.

And possibly for the first time in the history of my love affair with SHOPPING..

I came home,

Without buying anything…….( Well..technically…I bought eggs…but that doesn’t count..hehe..)

Shopping used to be one of my absolute favourite hobbies.

In fact, shopping was my personal pick-me-up. No matter what crap had landed on my lap that day, there would always always be a shop somewhere with a great bargain.

Shopping always had a cure for everything.

So…Could it be that my love affair with shopping had finally come to an end?

The flames of burning desire….the passion..had all been extinguished.

I felt like I had lost a lover.

Sorry was I to see it go.

But strangely, I didn’t feel as ’empty’ as I had expected. It didn’t bother me as much as I had expected it to.


So I came home and mooched around.

I mooched and mooched and mooched. And then I mooched some more.

Then I decided to go out.

Bravely ventured to Subang Parade.

Wandered around aimlessly. Again, NOTHING!

I’m not shallow. I know there’s more to life than a pair of shoes.

(Actually,to be perfectly honest, its not really the shopping I care about. I don’t think I need THINGS to validate my existence. I think the people who go a bit mad and shop til they’re dead broke, and go around begging for money on the Internet ,thinking its cute, are S-T-U-P-I-D. The Shopaholic series, by Sophie Kinsella [used to think it was super funny]  is in fact, one of the finest examples of this. People seem to celebrate this kind of overindulgence and indiscretion, thinking its cute and adorable. Its far from that. Its dangerous, stupid and irresponsible.)

But it just seems like I just can’t bring myself to CARE about anything anymore.

I’m not sure exactly how to put it….but its something along those lines..

This is most worrying.

Hmm….What have I become? What?

Empty and hollow.

I am devoid of emotion today.

The clowns have stolen it. Evil clowns.


Argh…I dunnoe…must snap out of it……

But don’t worry about me…I’ll bounce back….hehe…. Off to find myself. Again.

More later.

(Ps….if you have time…hehe…this is quite an interesting read… the five people you meet in heaven…)


Quote of the day:

“In three words, I can sum up everything I’ve learnt about life- it goes on.”

                                                                                 -Robert Frost

November 26, 2004. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

