One Night in Mongkok

p>The past ten days have been amazing…Hong Kong is a city with a surprise at every turn.

The sheer number of people is staggering- it's literally impossible to just walk– you just get swept along in the crowd.

It is not a place for the faint of heart.

Or purse.

My days were spent shopping, sightseeing, taking impossibly cheesy pictures and generally doing as many touristy things that are humanly possible, all while trying not to 1)exceed my credit limit or 2)break anymore suitcases.

(Instead, I just bought more bags.Soft ones, so they're unbreakable!)

What I liked most about Hong Kong was the way I could stand in a huge crowd of people (and this was just about everywhere…) and feel like I was just watching things. There were always so many things to see, so many people moving everywhere, that it's impossible to just…Stop.

I loved that I didn't know anyone there. I loved that for 10 days, I didn't wake up in the morning and rush to check my email, or read the papers, or worry about stupid things like I normally do.

I love that for 10 days I could just ignore the real world!🙂

I just like being on holiday.

My mum fell asleep earlier, and when I woke her up, she asked…

Where are we now?

She must like being on holiday too.

Image hosting by PhotobucketHong Kong at night
Image hosting by Photobucket
Repulse Bay
Image hosting by Photobucket
The ruins of St. Paul's, in Macau
Image hosting by Photobucket

The ifc in Central, taken from aboard a Star ferry

Hong Kong is a strange collection of so many contrasting things, so many sights and smells and sounds and tastes.
In Central on Sundays, scores of Filipinas gather on the streets outside Chanel and Cartier (are the stores alphabetised?), eating, smoking, playing cards, giving each other manicures and what not.
I asked someone- why are they just sitting there?
Because they have no where to go.
Outside Times Square in Causeway Bay, where the tenant list reads like a who's who of luxury and fashion's biggest names, a man sits humbly; his face horribly disfigured from what I suppose must have been a horrible industrial accident. His cap sits empty, save for a 10 dollar coin and some 50 cent coins.
One rainy night in Mongkok, I watched an old man rummaging the garbage bin for recyclable items, wearing just one shoe.
On that day alone I had bought three pairs.
While some say Hong Kong's obsession with things appeals to only the most shallow, that all who pass must pay homage to its number one deity: consumerism (and its hard to not get sucked into this), I give it some credit for showing another side, one of humanity– one that teaches you to look beyond the Prada and Fendi, beneath the expensive makeup and intoxicating perfume, and just look into what it means to be human, alone.
It teaches you humility.
Or maybe just guilt.
Good times.

March 10, 2006. MY So-Called Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

